Timeline for Optometry
at The Ohio State University

1870The Ohio General Assembly establishes the Ohio Agricultural and Mechanical College.
1873Twenty-four students begin classes at the new College, located on the old Neil farm just two miles north of downtown Columbus.
1878The name of the College is changed to The Ohio State University.
1914The Ohio State Optical Association (later known as the Ohio Optometric Association) raises $3,000 to begin an optometry program at Ohio State; and a physics professor, Dr. Charles Sheard, is selected as the first director of the new program in "Applied Optics."
1915The two-year program in Applied Optics is expanded to a four-year program.
1919Ohio becomes the 45th state to pass an Optometric Practice Act.
1936Dr. Glenn A. Fry is appointed Director of the OSU School of Optometry.
1937The "Applied Optics" curriculum becomes the "Optometry" curriculum at Ohio State.
1942Dr. Henry Hofstetter becomes the first OSU PhD graduate in Physiological Optics.
1951The OSU School of Optometry moves from the Mendenhall Physics Lab building on north campus to a new (and current) building on south campus at 338 West Tenth Avenue.
1961The West Wing (four attached floors) of the optometry building is opened.
1964The 6-year OD degree is approved to replace the previous 5-year BS-Optometry Degree.
1968The OSU School of Optometry becomes the OSU College of Optometry; Dr. Frederick W. Hebbard is selected as the first Dean; the first OD class graduates in Ohio Stadium.
1978Optometry acquires the A-wing of Starling-Loving Hall for clinic, research, and administrative space.
1982The College adopts a logo patch to be worn on all clinic coats.
1984Ohio passes Diagnostic Pharmaceutical Agents legislation.
1988Dean Hebbard retires; Dean Richard M. Hill is selected as his successor.
1991The OSU optometry curriculum expands from 12 to 14 academic quarters.
1992Ohio passes Therapeutic Pharmaceutical Agents legislation.
1995Dean Hill retires; Dean John Schoessler is selected as his successor.
2002A fund-raising campaign known as "Raise the Roof" is created to build a state-of-the-art research facility by adding three floors to the West Wing of the Optometry building.
2004Dean Schoessler retires; Dean Melvin Shipp is selected as his successor.
2006Dean Shipp appoints the college's BEST (Building the Educational System for Tomorrow) committee to make recommendations on how "…to optimally educate optometrists in the 21st century and beyond."
2007The Wildermuth Optometric Research Clinic is opened.
2012The University changes its academic calendar from quarters to semesters.
2014Optometry at Ohio State celebrates its 100th anniversary! Dean Shipp retires; Dean Karla Zadnik becomes the college’s fifth dean.