Ohio State Optometry Graduate Students Receive Arene T. Wray Award

The Ohio State University College of Optometry PhD students Dr. Erin Rueff and Dr. Phillip Yuhas will continue to advance vision research, thanks to the Arene T. Wray Award.

The award was established in 1972 to incentivize promising graduate students to conduct meaningful research that ultimately will affect how optometrists treat patients and improve their quality of life.

“This year’s recipients are clinicians as well as research scientists, so their clinical experience and scientific education will ultimately provide a better understanding of vision-related anomalies and hopefully continue the tradition of encouraging others to pursue scientific careers,” says Dr. Jeffrey Walline, associate professor of optometry and chair of the Graduate Program in Vision Science.

Dr. Rueff, who graduated from Purdue University in 2008 with a bachelor’s degree in biology, earned her Doctor of Optometry (OD) degree from Ohio State in 2012, and a master’s degree in 2014. In her current PhD studies, she focuses on contact lens-induced dry eye and binocular vision disorders to better understand why patients discontinue contact lens wear.

Dr. Yuhas earned an undergraduate degree in biology from the University of Notre Dame in 2010 and OD/Master’s degrees from Ohio State in 2014. As he pursues his PhD in vision science, he is developing an objective, pupil-based screening test for glaucoma and mild traumatic brain injury, while also studying ocular disease diagnosis and treatment and specialty contact lenses.