Dr. Vondolee Delgado-Nixon receives the Provost’s Award for Distinguished Teaching by a Lecturer

Dr. Vondolee Delgado-Nixon (“Dr. VDN” to her students) received the “Provost’s Award for Distinguished Teaching by a Lecturer” during a surprise visit to her Class of 2018 classroom on February 18, 2015 by Ohio State President Michael Drake and Vice Provost Mike Boehm. Only three lecturers university-wide receive this award each year. The presenters snuck up on her in class, and Dr. Drake praised her achievements. Her husband, Dr. Greg Nixon, Assistant Dean for Clinical Services, and son, Chase Nixon, presented her with a bouquet of red roses and lots of hugs.

Students, faculty and alumni nominate their “best of the best,” and a committee of students, award-winning faculty, and alumni choose the awardees. In his nomination from last autumn, Dr. Mike Earley wrote, “She is dedicated to each and every student’s success as optometrists, not just to success in her classes.” One of her students was quoted: “I appreciate Dr. VDN's ongoing effort to meet one-on-one with her students. She truly cares that we succeed as happy, healthy future optometrists. I know that I can talk with her when I am stressed, and she will respond with sound advice. The transition to optometry school can be a tough one, and I am thankful that she has been here for us each step of the way!” Dean Karla Zadnik echoed the praise in supporting materials as Dr. VDN made it to the final selection round earlier this year, “She is truly an extraordinary classroom teacher. She makes herself completely available to her students--our first-year students, who are generally quite nervous about the requirements of the professional curriculum, which challenges them significantly compared to their undergraduate work. Her courses are generally regarded as the most demanding in the first year curriculum, and yet the students give her high teaching marks, positive comments, and, quite simply, love her as a person.”

The Office of Academic Affairs recognizes the award recipients with a $4,200 honorarium.