Optometry Students Earn Practice Excellence Scholarships

Cory Lappin and Tanner Wentzien

Cory Lappin and Tanner Wentzien, students at The Ohio State University College of Optometry, have been named 2017 Practice Excellence Scholarship recipients by the American Academy of Optometry Foundation, an affiliate of the American Academy of Optometry. 


Lappin and Wentzien are among 44 top-performing fourth-year optometry students in the U.S., Puerto Rico, and Canada selected for this honor.


The scholarships are funded through VSP Global’s Eyes of Hope® Global Charitable Fund in collaboration with FYi Doctors in Canada (for Canadian recipients) and administered through the AAOF. Key criteria for selecting the scholarship recipients include the student’s commitment to enter the independent practice of optometry, clinical performance, and academic performance.