William C. Ezell Fellowships

Three Ohio State University College of Optometry PhD students earned William C. Ezell Fellowships from the American Academy of Optometry Foundation. Katherine Bickle, OD, MS, FAAO, was named the Danne Ventura – Essilor Ezell Fellow; Phillip Thomas Yuhas, OD, MS, FAAO, was named the Merton C. Flom Leadership Ezell Fellow; and Ann Morrison, OD, MS, FAAO, was named the Mike Daley – Essilor Ezell Fellow.

The Ezell Fellowships are prestigious awards that provide talented post-doctoral students who are pursuing an advanced degree in optometric research and education with recognition and support. The American Academy of Optometry Foundation has awarded more than 400 Fellowships to students pursuing graduate studies. Among the list of former Ezell Fellows are over 20 deans and presidents of optometric schools and colleges, over 130 faculty members and over 160 Fellows of the American Academy of Optometry, including three of its presidents.

Fun fact: Dr. Yuhas’ Fellowship honors the leadership legacy of Dr. Merton Flom, father of Dr. Roanne Flom, professor of clinical optometry at The Ohio State University College of Optometry.