Ohio State Optometry Students Win Travel Fellowships

Traveling to the American Academy of Optometry’s annual meeting is one of many highlights of The Ohio State University College of Optometry student experience. The following students will receive funds to attend Academy 2018 in San Antonio, November 7-10, thanks to generous travel fellowships.


Joseph Lehman, Stevie Njeru, Emma Thompson, and Jessica Wolfe [pictured left to right, top below] have been awarded 2018 SAAO Student Travel Fellowships. This award was created by the College of Optometry's student chapter to encourage and enable Ohio State students to attend the Academy meeting and contribute to the body of knowledge within the field. These recipients distinguished themselves from a talent-laden applicant pool based on the strength of their essays detailing how attending the academy meeting could facilitate reaching their career goals. 


Marielle Blumenthaler, Maureen Plaumann, Sloane Weed, and Lydia Pickrell [pictured left to right, bottom below] have been awarded 2018 American Academy of Optometry Student Travel Fellowships, funded by an educational grant from Johnson and Johnson Vision. They will be honored at an awards luncheon on Nov. 8.