Ohio State Optometrists Earn Ezell Fellowships

Dr. Maureen Plaumann and Dr. Kelsy Steele, Ezell Fellows. 

Ohio State University College of Optometry Vision Science PhD students Kelsy Steele and Maureen Plaumann are among 13 recipients of 2019 American Academy of Optometry Foundation William C. Ezell Fellowships.

Dr. Steele (OD’16, MS’18), has been named the AAO Section on Cornea, Contact Lenses and Refractive Technologies Ezell Fellow. Dr. Plaumann, OD, FAAO, has been named the Baycross Christian Family Foundation Binocular Vision and Pediatrics Ezell Fellow.

“The Ezell Fellowship is the most prestigious award given to students who are pursuing vision science graduate degrees in optometry,” explains Dr. Jeff Walline, associate dean for research and graduate education. “The award helps make graduate stipends easier to manage financially, and it automatically places the student among luminaries of the profession.”

Ezell Fellowship funding is provided by leading optometric companies, private endowments, and other generous business organizations that represent most sectors of the industry.