New Non-Resident Tuition Model Relieves Burden for Out-of-State Students

Our goal is simple--admit the 68 best first-year optometry students in the country. We want the future leaders, the next generation of professors, and the most successful practitioners. If you have the abilities, experiences, drive, and dedication that make you want to excel at the most comprehensive health sciences center in the country, then our program is for you.   – Dean Karla Zadnik

Our college’s goal is clearly delineated by Dean Zadnik’s above statement.   We are aware however, that the tuition burden experienced by out-of-state students makes attendance at The Ohio State University a difficult financial decision for them.  Therefore, the college has been working with the university to eliminate the financial uncertainty and the numerous steps necessary to establish residency in Ohio.

The Ohio State University Board of Trustees has officially approved the Non-Resident Tuition proposal for out-of-state optometry students.  After successful completion of the first year, which will incur the standard nonresident fee, out-of-state students will pay in-state tuition plus a $5.00 nonresident fee per semester for years 2-4 of the program.  This change will eliminate the work and stress associated with the process of establishing Ohio residency and establishes a more certain financial obligation over our four-year program.  This new fee structure will go into effect in autumn semester 2020 for our second, third, and fourth year students.  Students eligible for in-state residency for their first year according to the Ohio State Residency guidelines under dependent status, may still apply.

The Ohio State University College of Optometry is a nationally recognized program, and we believe this new tuition model will help us further our national representation and the reach of the Buckeye family!