Ohio State Optometry Students Win NOA Scholarships

Student Award Winner Richard Wan
Richard Wan
Student Award Winner Veronica Schuver
Veronica Schuver

Congratulations to Ohio State Optometry students Richard Wan and Veronica Schuver, who were recognized Saturday, June 27 at the virtual National Optometric Association scholarship award presentation.

Richard received the Future Contact Lens Leadership Scholarship from Coopervision, a competitive award that supports the education of future contact lens leaders. This award was presented by Ohio State Optometry alum, Dr. Steven Rosinski. Richard also received the Walmart/Sam’s Club Leadership Award, which recognizes students who demonstrate strong leadership in NOSA and the optometric community.

Veronica received the National Optometric Foundation Dr. Henry Moore Memorial Scholarship. This award honors the late Dr. Henry Moore, who in 1959 co-founded the Plano Vision Center in Chicago. Still today, Plano’s mission is to, "to identify, evaluate and treat economically disadvantaged children who have underdeveloped and/or inefficient vision information processing systems." It remains the only black not-for-profit provider of comprehensive vision therapy services in Chicago.