Ohio State Researchers Receive UnEYEted Collaborative Funding Initiative Award

A collaboration between Dr. Heather Chandler, Associate Professor of Optometry at The Ohio State University, and Drs. Katelyn Swindle-Reilly, Colleen Cebulla, Shigeo Tamiya, was awarded the UnEYEted Collaborative Funding Initiative.

The UnEYEted Research Symposium began in 2016 to stimulate collaboration between The Ohio State University Department of Ophthalmology and College of Optometry. Each year since then, Ophthalmology and Optometry have awarded $4,000 to support collaborative initiatives likely to lead to further funding.

This year’s award winners are collaborating on Nanoparticle Delivery System for Ocular Injuries to collect in vivo data using a rodent model. The model will be used to investigate a novel reactive oxygen species drug delivery system to mitigate inflammation and deliver therapeutic agents following retinal detachment and proliferative vitreoretinopathy.

Congratulations to all investigators!