Erica Shelton selected to receive Arene T. Wray Fellowship

Dr. Erica Shelton

Erica Shelton (OD/MS'18), a PhD candidate in the vision science graduate program at The Ohio State University College of Optometry, has been selected as the 2023 recipient of the Arene T. Wray Fellowship. The Arene T. Wray Fellowship was created to promote optometric research and is specifically designated for graduate students who 'can do the best work in optometry'. Dr. Shelton is pursuing her PhD under the mentorship of Dr. Dean VanNasdale to address vision health disparities through the investigation of population vision health statistics. Dr. Shelton notes that one of her career goals is 'to improve public health education for optometrists and to improve vision-related public health programs that help improve the health literacy of the pediatric population'. We congratulate Dr. Shelton on her efforts and, as the winner of this award, she will be recognized with a monetary scholarship.