Ohio State Optometry Graduate Students Named Ezell Fellows

Ohio State University College of Optometry graduate students Erin Rueff, Katherine Bickle, Ann Morrison and Phillip Yuhas are among 11 recipients of the American Academy of Optometry Foundation (AAOF) 2017 William C. Ezell Fellowship. Named after the founding president of the AAOF, William C. Ezell, OD, this prestigious award was established to recognize and support talented post-doctoral students who are pursuing an advanced degree in optometric research and education. More than 300 William C.

Ohio State Optometry, Faith Mission Partnership Earns Award

Together, The Ohio State University College of Optometry and Faith Mission Clinic received the University Engagement Recognition Award for Excellence in Community Parnership.

Ohio State’s Engagement Recognition Awards annually honor faculty, staff, students and community partners for outstanding achievement in local, national and international community-university collaborations. The 2017 awardees will be recognized at a ceremony on May 3 at 10:30 a.m. in the Ohio Union, Archie Griffin Ballroom.

Welcome Residents

The Ohio State University College of Optometry offers residency programs in ocular disease, primary eye care, contact lens, and pediatric optometry. Congratulations to our newest residents, listed below by location.


Cincinnati VA

Hye Seon Yoo                                   

Christine Shukis                               

Amy Ruzicka                                      


Dayton VA

Chelsea Monroe                             

Amber Mathias Wins Schuller Scholarship

Congratulations to Amber Mathias (Class of 2018), who has been selected as the 2017 winner of the John F. Schuller Scholarship.

This scholarahip is designated for an OPT II or IV student who has demonstrated leadership and excellent clinical skills, has a commitment to community service and a social conscience, and works with visually impaired individuals, especially those who are developmentally disabled. 

Elizabeth Brubaker wins 2017 Alcon Case Report Award

Elizabeth Brubaker

Congratulations to Elizabeth Brubaker (Class of 2017), who has been recognized as The Ohio State University winner of the 2017 Alcon Case Report Award. This case report competition involves patient encounters that require unique strategies to achieve successful contact lens wear.

ARVO Names Ewen King-Smith Silver Fellow

Dr. Ewen King-Smith, emeritus professor of optometry at The Ohio State University, has been honored as a Silver Fellow in the Association for Research in Vision and Ophthalmology (ARVO) Class of 2017.

Heather Chandler receives Gray Lady Foundation award

Dr. Heather Chandler, associate professor of optometry at The Ohio State University, received an award from the Gray Lady Foundation to study Intraocular drug delivery via a pentablock polymer to prevent canine posterior capsule opacification.

In this work, Dr. Chandler will continue her study of a thermogel drug delivery device designed for intraocular release. Her aim is to develop a new strategy for preventing posterior capsule opacification in canines, which occurs in a majority of dogs after cataract surgery.

Welcome New #OSUopt BSK Members

On Nov. 3, Dr. Greg Nixon, The Ohio State University College of Optometry associate dean for clinical services and faculty advisor for Beta Sigma Kappa, along with the current BSK officers: Steven Manning, president; Sandy Veres, vice president; Sarah Baughman, secretary; and Heather Van Law, treasurer, welcomed 40 new members to the local chapter of this optometric honor society that recognizes scholastic excellence within the optometry curriculum.

They are:

Marielle Blumenthaler

Alicia Borer

Macy Caldwell

Bradley Dougherty receives OLERF grant

Dr. Bradley Dougherty, assistant professor of optometry at The Ohio State University, received the 2016 Ohio Lions Eye Research Foundation Dick Neiderhauser AMD Grant for his project “Socioeconomic status affects health.”

His study will examine in greater depth his recent findings suggesting that among patients with age-related macular degeneration, those with lower socioeconomic status were more likely to have worse outcomes.

Emmanuel Owusu receives OLERF fellowship

Emmanuel Owusu

Dr. Emmanuel Owusu, a graduate research associate in The Ohio State University College of Optometry, received the the 2016 Ohio Lions Eye Research Foundation Fellowship.

Subscribe to